Apologetics

Thoughts

While reading the daily Proverb today (Proverbs 11), the first verse jumped out at me:  “1The LORD abhors dishonest scales,  but accurate weights are his delight.” Most people would read that and immediately think of weights and measures in terms on economic terms, but my thoughts drifted to when Jesus said to do not judge others lest you be judged. When we come in contact with people in our day to day life, or when we turn on the tv to look at the news, or view other programming, or when we read the newspaper, we are bombarded by people. For example, turn on any of the major news networks, and you are bound to see a story about President Bush. More then likely it concerns the Iraq war, or something or other, and usually the President is not put in the best shade of light. More then likely he is being blasted for his “incompetence,” “Stupidity,” etc.  Is he incompetent and/or stupid? Of course he is… he is human, and if he leans upon his own understanding, he is a fool, yet, if he trusts in God, he is wise. Is he trusting in God? I have no idea, all I know is that it is my responsibility to pray for him everyday, and “render unto Caesar what is Caesars,” and thats not just taxes, but honor, respect, and loyalty. It is not my place, or anyone else’s place to judge the President, or any man or woman for that matter. When someone judges the President for being incompetent or whatever, they are using unjust scales. How? When God judges us, he judges us through His Son, not thought public opinion. When man judges, we tend to judge through public opinion, not though the Son of God. What would it be like if God judged us by public opinion? You may say, “I don’t care, go ahead,” I promise you, you would probably be dead. If not, you probably wouldn’t like it. We have all sinned, we have all fallen short of His Glory, we are all in need of salvation, therefore, I would rather be judged through the Son of God – through His love for the sinner, His compassion for the world (even those who did not believe), and His ultimate sacrafice on the Cross – then the law of public opinion. You think that public opinion is not that bad, take a page (or a couple) from history. Read the Law Code of Hammurabi, or Roman law, or ancient Greek law, or even the Napoleonic Code – or better yet, turn on the news. See how they run public officials and politician through the mud, see how the trash celebrities (because we all know they are smarter then they act…), does this type of “scale” help the people who are being trashed? Does this show them the love of God? Personally I am SURPRISED more “famous” and public people haven’t taken their own lives, I’m surprised their problems are not more worse then they are. Next time you turn on the tv, or read the newspaper, or log onto the internet, ask yourself what you would feel if you were on the other side (better yet, ask yourself what it would truly be like to be the President of the United States, and if you think you can do better – run for office).

3 thoughts on “Thoughts

  1. Hey Jared,

    Thanks for your insight. I am in total agreement with you. For a long time I have tried to appeal to those who seem to judge the drop of a hat…”why didn’t he/she drop the blue one?”, “he/she didn’t drop it from a high enough point”, “did you see that hat? What was he/she thinking?”

    It troubles me to the depth of my soul to hear this kind of judgment, and I pray for a time when that type of judgment does not occur, especially in Christian communities, and more importantly, Christian homes. I think that learning to hurt and not judge is important. I, honestly, don’t always know how to do it, but a good first step is to imagine yourself in the shoes of the person being judged. I don’t know how I really feel about this war in Iraq. What I do know is that as Americans, we are so cynical that no matter what decision President Bush made on that matter he would have been roasted. It’s very sad. The very thing we hate is the thing we do the most. We all hate being the one being judged, and yet we continue to judge. Maybe that’s our greatest sin as a society…

  2. hmm… society as our greatest sin… interesting, I think its arrogance. Ever since the founding of the US, she has been arrogant, her leaders and people both. Throughout the history of the US, that arrogance is at the forefront of everything she does. Arrogance bread out of rebellion… sounds like a teenager lol!

  3. lol…well I meant that as a society judgment is our greatest sin not that society is our greatest sin!

    Personally, I don’t see arrogance in all of us, but in the greedy among us I do. In the power hungry, in the wealthy. I don’t think it fair to stereo type all Americans into a category of arrogance; I think that chips away at our intellegence and our compassion. I do think that we need, as a nation, return to God instead of relying on ourselves.

Leave a Reply

