Philosophy · Politics

I’m Glad I’m Not Famous

I’m glad I am not famous. There, I said it. Not only am I glad, but I am thankful I am just a simple man who lives in my simple house with my simple (super-sized) family. I am glad I don’t have millions of dollars. I am glad I cannot hit a baseball 400 ft. on a whim. I am glad I cannot hit a golf ball 300 yards and straight. I am glad I do not make millions of people laugh. I am glad that I am simply who I am and nothing more.

Tiger Woods, one of the greatest golfers of our time, maybe the greatest ever, probably wishes he wasn’t famous. Kathy Griffin, a staple on CNN’s New Years Eve broadcast may be wishing the same thing. Granted, I’m sure they have a lot of money, and as we all know, money buys happiness… or at least in there case notoriety that may never be lived down.

See, I’ve walked in those same shoes. I’ve done things like Tiger Woods and Kathy Griffin. Not great things like win a golf major or make tons of people laugh, but the bad things. I have made mistakes, yet, here I am, none the wiser, because I am not famous. Sure, I have 153 followers on twitter… most are family, the rest has to do with video games. But I’m not famous. Yes, I have some subscribers on YouTube, but again, I’m not famous, so no one cares if I mess up. Well, not entirely true, my wife cares, my children care, the rest of my family cares. But i will never be on CNN because I slept with a lot of women, got arrested, took a picture of a severed and bloody head (fake mind you). See, I’m just a normal human being, doing normal human being things, and because I am not famous, no one cares.

People are generally people, usually, meaning they act like them. We are impulsive, we do stupid things that we think will be okay, funny or pleasing. We fail to realize that life is like chess, where we need to look four to five moves ahead. Instead, we don’t even look one move ahead. If you are like me, the consequences are limited to our surroundings. But, if you are famous, you end up on the front page of CNN, ESPN and the Huffington Post. I’m glad I’m not famous.

I think we can all agree that both Woods and Griffin made a mistake. I’m positive this isn’t the first time, nor will it be the last time this will happen. Yet, we revel in this – sharing it on Facebook, Twitter, etc. We make memes, we laugh, we revile… we think its great. Not once do we put ourselves in their shoes. Why should we? They are famous, they have never helped us. Typical human rational thought.

We like it when famous people screw up. Partly because it makes them “more human,” whatever that means. But also because it gives us a chance to forget how stupid we are and allows us to revel in how stupid famous people are as well. As if being famous all of a sudden makes you more then human, and so when they fall it just goes to show that in fact, they are no better then us. Well, no shit. They are human.

The first failing in this is on us. We are the ones who put these people – athletes, actors, politicians, etc on a pedestal and expect them to be more then human. We expect them, more so then us, to rise above human nature and behave in a godlike manner. The second failing is on them, but it is also one we all share, that is falling prey to human nature, which is to be, at times, simply stupid.

I know I have made mistakes in the past, I will probably make mistakes today, and I am 100% positive I will make mistakes in the future. I refuse to revel in someone’s mistakes, whether they be famous or not. Who am I to judge? In fact, why should I even want to judge, do I want to be treated the same way? I know I don’t, I’d guess you don’t either. Though I could be wrong in that. What if it was your father, mother, brother, sister, son or daughter. What if it was your spouse? Well, good thing we aren’t famous, otherwise it could be.

I feel sorry for Tiger Woods. Not because he got arrested, but because he is obviously in a bad place, he is obviously struggling. Same goes for Kathy Griffin. Sure, they may have wealth, may still have fans, but all of that is meaningless. You should know, not being famous, that not having wealth and fans can still mean a good life. In fact, I’d wager in a lot of respects, your life may even be better.

I would not dare to excuse or defend the behavior of famous people who make mistakes. Likewise, I would not do so for  someone who isn’t famous. I will also not defend those who make money or become famous off of other people’s mistake either. I know I wouldn’t want my mug shot posted all over Facebook, and I am sure neither did Woods. Using the excuse that they are famous and should expect it is petty, and in my opinion, beyond reason. They are famous, so what? You are not famous, so what? There is a part of me that wished I had my mug shot so I could post it next to Woods’, that would be a hoot. It will also be more real, and to me, would actually have more meaning.

None of us are perfect, all of us have skeletons in the closet, or at least a past that is filled with mistakes. Thankfully, for most of us, we are pretty much left alone by the world so we can grow and learn from them. Unfortunately for those who are famous, they are thrown to the wolves. i suppose if Tiger Woods or Kathy Griffin committed suicide we would revel in that as well, all the while downplaying our on part in their death. “You go to far,” you say, but do I? Do any of us think what we are doing when we make fun of famous people who make mistakes? Do any of us care? It seems thousands upon thousands on Twitter and Facebook don’t, and that is a shame.

Again, i am glad I am not famous. I am glad no one will probably read this, makes it easier for me, for I know i will make mistakes. We claim that people who are famous should hold themselves to a higher standard, maybe we should do the same.

Leave a Reply

